The Road Ahead is Shorter than the Path Left Behind

Standard

I was recently sharing with a friend that at my age (old enough – let’s put it this way!), the road ahead is shorter than the path left behind. "What do you mean?" he asked. Well, hopefully, I won’t live as long as the years that are behind me. Statistically, it is a small probability. Realistically, I am hoping for zero probability that I will live as many years as my age reflects. So what about it, he asks.

What this means is that each day from this moment onwards is precious – very precious. The illusion of immortality that comes with youth is now replaced with an acute awareness of mortality, a genuine acceptance of my mortality, but even more important, a certain joyousness one feels with knowing, accepting, and living one’s life as mortal human beings. The fact is death may knock on my door today, tomorrow, or years down the road. Some may consider this morbid. I look at it as an opportunity and reminder to live my life the way I want to live; to be joyous; to be generous; and to have a deep connection with one’s spiritual side; and to know life’s important truth: This, too, shall pass.

About Dr. Gupta

Dr. Uma G. Gupta is the Founder and President of STEM.SMART, a non-profit organization dedicated to increasing the pipeline of U.S students interested in STEM careers. In addition, she is the CEO of PlanetGPA, an international student recruitment services that serves as an extension to the recruitment offices of U.S. universities.

One response »

  1. As you have said, the statement, ‘This too shall pass’, is timeless in what it teaches us … good or bad, it emphaizes the transient nature of life … and yet we fret!

Leave a Reply

