Uma Gupta writes about a book that is changing lives

Standard

If you believe in serendipity, it is everywhere, isn’t it? If you don’t believe in serendipity, then life is full of coincidences – random, insignificant coincidences. I for one believe in serendipity. I have believed in it all my life. People, events, situations, conversations, thoughts, actions – when I look back – everything had a purpose; Everything. I may not have seen it then, but I do now when I look back upon my life.

Let me give you an example. Last week I was flipping channels and paused on Oprah as she introduced a new book for her Oprah Book Club. It was The New Earth by Eckhart Tolle. Long time ago, I read Eckhart. I did not make a mental note or the book nor did I make a decision to buy the book.

Then the next day I was in Barnes&Noble on their buy two books – get-one-free table. And I see The New Earth. I was in a hurry and so quickly selected three books, including Eckhart, and left. I started on the book the same evening and I thought it was pretty boring. The first few pages were pretty difficult and abstract and I thought the book was going nowhere. Then as I read on, I could not put it down. It drew me in like a whirlpool. It challenged my thinking on life and its many dimensions in extraordinary ways. I plan to re-read the book. It will probably become my everyday Bible. Now that’s what I call serendipity!!

About Dr. Gupta

Dr. Uma G. Gupta is the Founder and President of STEM.SMART, a non-profit organization dedicated to increasing the pipeline of U.S students interested in STEM careers. In addition, she is the CEO of PlanetGPA, an international student recruitment services that serves as an extension to the recruitment offices of U.S. universities.

Leave a Reply

