The beginning of a journey, writes Uma Gupta

Standard

So I did not set out to write a self-help book. Who am I to write a self-help book when I myself was soul searching? Who am I to reach out to others when I myself needed to reach deep into my soul? But in retrospect, the best time to write a book is when you are soul-searching. In our moments of great pause and deep reflection is when we are able to assist ourselves and hopefully share our findings with others. Why? Because it is the best time, the perfect opportunity, to ask the right questions. Not that you embark consciously on this journey with the intent of asking the right questions. You are simply in search of the right answers. When you are searching for answers, finding the right answer always starts with asking the right questions. And that wisdom will come only when the answers don’t make sense. And asking the right questions in one’s own quest for peace, understanding, happiness, and contentment is inevitably the most challenging and daunting of all tasks.

I started to write this book, or this journal, for my own self. For my soul. For my own sake. For my own sanity. For my own rejuvenation. I needed words to reaffirm my faith in myself and to once again believe in the goodness of people. I needed words, written words, so that I could see in black and white what I had intuitively known all my life: that the greatest triumphs in our lives almost always begins with a single, persistent, unwavering thought. And for me that thought has always been that I was put on this earth for a purpose far greater than my own good. I am a good human being capable of accomplishing of whatever I set to do. The key is to be confident, sure, and passionate about the purpose of my life that is far more expansive than my own good and what is it that I truly wish to accomplish. That belief was put to the test in an unexpected way and out of that pain came this book and this journey. They say that those who cause us the greatest pain are the greatest teachers. Indeed.

Author: Uma Gupta

About Dr. Gupta

Dr. Uma G. Gupta is the Founder and President of STEM.SMART, a non-profit organization dedicated to increasing the pipeline of U.S students interested in STEM careers. In addition, she is the CEO of PlanetGPA, an international student recruitment services that serves as an extension to the recruitment offices of U.S. universities.

Leave a Reply

