I am gonna change that tune!

Standard

That’s life, that’s what all the people say
You’re riding high in April,
Shot down in May,
But I know I’m gonna change that tune,
When I’m back on top, back on top in June
I said that’s life, and as funny as it may seem,
Some people got their kicks,
Stompin’ on a dream
But I don’t let it, let it get me down,
‘Cause this fine ol’world it keeps spinning around.

– Dean Kay and Kelly Gordon, recorded by Frank Sinatra, “That’s Life.”

You bet!

Courage, resilience, determination – these are not things you can take away and therein lies human triumph!

About Dr. Gupta

Dr. Uma G. Gupta is the Founder and President of STEM.SMART, a non-profit organization dedicated to increasing the pipeline of U.S students interested in STEM careers. In addition, she is the CEO of PlanetGPA, an international student recruitment services that serves as an extension to the recruitment offices of U.S. universities.

One response »

  1. Thank you for posting this, Dr. Gupta.
    In the 41 years since Frank Sinatra made “That’s Life” a hit, I can’t tell you how many times people have come up to me and thanked me for writing the song that helped turn their lives around.
    I was in Washington, D.C. for an event earlier this year and it got around the table the I was the writer of the song (Come to think of it, I believe I was the person that mentioned it.)
    A young man sitting across from me, who happened to be black, said, “I made “That’s Life” my song for the year. When I asked him what he meant he said, “My career here in Washington was picking up quite nicely until the middle of last year when I became deathly ill and was forced to leave my job.”
    He went on to explain that he was in the hospital for several weeks in intensive care after which he went through several months of rehabilitation … and now he was determined to rebuild his career and reinstate his dreams.
    He said, “Every time I feel a little down, I sing the lyric of your song to myself and I’m re-energized to get back in the race.”
    I can’t tell you how gratifying that comment, others like it, and your recognition is to me.
    I was 22 when I was able to put to music the philosophy that I’ve lived for my entire life. I was 26 when Mr. Sinatra offered it to the world.
    I’ve been truly fortunate.
    Thanks again.
    Dean Kay

Leave a Reply

